Working as a language assistant

 

It’s my first day and I feel like the new kid at school. I’m not even sure I know where the school is so I leave my house and hope for the best. Luckily I see some children and I presume they are going to the same place so I follow instinctively. There’s a lady at the gate directing the new pupils on where to go . I on the other hand look for the reception desk. After asking someone for directions I’m on the right path but bump into the headteacher before even reaching his office. He was on his way to give a welcome speech to the new students and jokingly said that I looked more like one of the students than the english assistant, well the French don’t disappoint with their directness do they?

The first few weeks at school have been frustrating. I was not given a timetable for weeks and so I felt  a bit useless. However when I eventually did get to start working with the pupils it was great. I had heard horror stories of language assistants being placed in really difficult schools and having a hard time with the pupils but for me that was not the case and the fact that this lycée had been awarded best lycée in France for 2013 showed by the quality of the pupils. They were very receptive, enquiring and eager to learn.

French schools are different to English schools in many ways. Take for example the Conseille de classe, this is a meeting which occurs at the end of each term with teachers, parent representatives and pupil representatives present. Each individual pupil on the register is discussed within the meeting to determine how they are progressing. Students can  be awarded ‘mentions’ which are divided into encouragements, compliments or félicitations. Encouragements is for when a student has been working but thier results are not exceptional, compliments is for good results but maybe and félicitations is the highest commendation for attitutude to work and exceptional grades. A conseille de classe would be the place where we would have to discuss if a student had to repeat a year or not. This is known as redoublement but does not exist in the english school system. Another revelation to me was ‘la vie scolaire’  these are the dinner supervisors, exam invigilators, the place to come if you come in late. They can also make phone callls home if messages need to be passed on from pupils to parents, they do photocopies and lots more . In england the supervisors or dinner ladies rather would not have a specific office nor deal with absences or punctuality, that would be the job of reception. Then of course you have the whole uniform thing- in France it doesn’t exist which I found strange as it’s not something us Brits are accustomed to.

I have enjoyed many moments at the school for example going with the A-level literature class to watch Sherlock Holmes at the theatre, baking with the As- level girls to raise money for the refugees at Calais. Enjoying many of the ‘gouters’ arranged by the girls. Helping out at homework club and talking to the adorable year 7′s and of course the banter between the students in class. But above all it has to be the friendliness and support I recieved from my fellow colleagues especially Stéphanie

Leave a comment